General Updates · Reviews

Review: Rowan Wood Legends

spoiler free review31043242.jpg

Title:Rowan Wood Legends

Author:Olivia Wildenstein

Series:Book 2

Rating★ ★ ★ ★ 

*Note:I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. You can also find the review for Book 1 here

Synopsis

SOME LEGENDS ARE BETTER LEFT UNTOLD.

I wasn’t the sort of girl who believed in fairytales, let alone tales about faeries. But that changed the day Faeries came to my small town and Hunters rose from their graves.

On that fateful day, I received a book, a peculiar collection of myths and legends. Turns out it was so much more than stories. And just as I was on the verge of unlocking its secrets, it was stolen from me by someone I called a friend.

Now, I don’t know whom I can turn to, whom I can trust. All I know is that there are two sides, and I am straddling the great divide because I am both Faerie and Hunter. And although I swore I would never choose, I am slowly falling for one of those sides…

characters header

Ace was definitely my favorite in this book because how funny and honest he could be most of the time. I say most because while he didn’t always tell Cat everything, he was the most honest and straightforward out of everyone.

✩ I didn’t like Kajika very much in this book. His fixation on Cat was based on her looking like someone else. His “love” was very conditional. If Cat couldn’t be what he wanted her to be he’d lash out. I didn’t like how commanding and possessive he could be. I just think he wasn’t the right guy for her.

✩ While Borgo didn’t play a huge part, I did feel pretty sorry for the guy. I really think he wasn’t a terrible person and I think he deserved better than the lies he was fed.

review header

giphy2

❝ “Okay, we’re all done. I’m all out of lollipops, though.”

Even though my throbbing arm felt as though it were on fire, I smiled. “I was always a sticker girl.” 

 

This book definitely went beyond my original expectations. It tackled on a lot of the issues I’d had with the first book. My favorite change had to be the addition of the glossary because it did get pretty confusing in the first book to remember all the words in the fae and hunter language. It was really helpful to be able to look back at it. Plus, it helped a lot with keeping all the people and their relationships straight.

Romance is a really big part of this series, so I feel it’s only fair to talk about the guys who seemed to have a thing for Cat.

While Kajika was more willing to take things slow in this book with Cat, I still think he didn’t change much. If anything, I think he got worse. He was more controlling and was constantly showing Cat that if she didn’t choose his side he’d consider her an enemy. It got really tiring to see him throw his tantrums when things didn’t go his way. He was really uncompromising.

Cruz remained pretty much the same. He was still attracted to Cat, but … it felt more like a passing crush. I don’t think even he could really explain why he was. Also, I think Lily’s solution to her issue with Cat was pretty good. I could see why she did it and I think it was even kind of her to think of a good alternative rather than just dump her problem on some random person that might have meant Cat harm.

He stayed silent for a beat. And then he mumbled, “Yeah. Sorry. It’s tough to contain all that magnetism. I’ll try my best”.❞

 

And then there was my personal favorite: Ace. Then again, he could’ve had a thing for anyone because he’s just got that flirty personality, haha. I just love how honest he could be (at least more than anyone else) and how he was always thoughtful and kind. Honestly, he was probably the only guy in the book that I liked besides Borgo. But Borgo I liked more just because I felt sorry for him and what he went through.

Plus, that story developed quite a bit on this one. There were some reveals that I didn’t expect at all and were interesting twists. I think one thing that was frustrating was how set in their ways both sides were (fae and hunter). They constantly kept trying to work together but then also snapped at the littlest thing and overreacted. I’m curious to see how things end and really wish we could get an inside look at the fae island! We hear so much about it from other characters but I think it’d be great to have Cat visit.

I’m dying to see what Cat’s final choice is—both in terms of romance and other stuff (won’t spoil it). I have to admit that sometimes I was a little frustrated with Cat not making up her mind, but this was a really fun, easy read. I’m looking forward to reading the last book.

This lovely book comes out on August 14th so you should check it out if you’re into paranormal romance. It’s advertised as “The Vampire Diaries with faeries” but I felt some Twilight-ish vibes from it. So, if you liked either of those then you might like this!

 

coollogo_com-78971261.png

deviantart_new_logo_by_th3emoo-d893lu2goodreads_by_th3emoo-d7x22ininstagram_by_th3emoo-d7cxqkvtwitter_by_mr_emoo-d59buk3

3 thoughts on “Review: Rowan Wood Legends

Leave a Reply

