Book Memes · General Updates · Top Ten Tuesday

TTT: Books I Loved But Never Wrote A Review For

This is a book meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. There isn’t a topic for this week as they are on hiatus, but I saw others going back through and posting old topics so I decided to do the same! This week I’m doing “Top Ten Books I Loved But Never Wrote a Review For

ttt july 11.jpg

Oh man, where to start! Um.. well I guess most of these didn’t get a review for a couple of reasons: I didn’t have a book blog at the time, I didn’t do reviews back then, and it’s been so long since I’ve read them I probably couldn’t do a very good review. So even though I would love to review them on Goodreads I just opt not to because for my style of review (in-depth, detailed) I wouldn’t be able to do it off what I remember now. And with so many other books to read I don’t exactly feel like going back and rereading these (I’m not the kind of person who rereads anyways). But I’ll share a little of what I do remember.

Tokyo Mew Mew was one of those old anime that I used to watch as a kid. I loved their powers and outfits, their personalities, and the overall story. Later on, in high school, I bought the manga and enjoyed it so much. I still have it just because I liked to bring it back out once and a while and reread it. I know! I said I wasn’t a person who rereads, but manga is really the only exception because they’re quicker, easier reads.

Mind Games is the series that set me on the “I love Kiersten White” path, haha. I loved the story and her style of writing. I think this is one of her lesser known series, which is a shame because I absolutely love it. It’s about two sisters at a shady school for people with abilities. Seriously, check it out!

I feel like I profess my love for anything Rachel Caine quite often enough (she just released the third book, Ash and Quill, in her Great Library series). Her Morganville Vampires series (Glass Houses is the first book) is what introduced me to her. Love her writing style! She has great stories and well-written characters ❤

Wicked: Witch and Curse I pretty much just picked up because it sounded a little cool. It turned out to be a weirdly tedious but great read? Like I felt like the books are long (and I always sigh a little at long books because laziness) or move a little slow but I loved the overall story? I hope this makes sense to someone, haha.

Now, Wicked Lovely I picked up because I had just finished Tithe (which one of my best friends back in high school had recommended) and I was dying to read more books with faeries. I do not regret picking this one up. Again, love Marr’s writing style. The story was great throughout and I loved getting to read from different character’s points of view.

Haha, so with The Golden Compass… I think I just saw the giant series volume at Costco for cheap and I begged my parents to get it for me (this was forever ago as well). I saw the movie and liked it a lot. I think I got through the first two books for the most part but I got busy with school and never finished the rest of the series. But, I totally intend to go back and read this one (might even reread from the beginning of the series since it’s been so long).

Night Pleasures, part of the Dark Hunters series, was another one that was recommended to me. I was kind of looking for some adult books to get into and was also kind of cautious of romance books so one of my friends said this sounded like something I’d like because it also has a lot of action in it. And it was ❤ It’s one of those giant series (I think it’s up to 20-something, maybe 30 books?) but I liked it because, for the most part, each book is like it’s own thing? There are different characters at least for the first 5-6 books (which is all I’ve read so far). There are some recurring characters and I’ve been told there is an overarching storyline that is slowly revealed. I’ve also heard her Chronicles of Nick YA series is very good.

The Giver I had to read for school and it’s one of the few books I’ve been forced to read for school that I have actually enjoyed. I completely fell in love with the story and then just this past year I found the whole series in the brand-new hardcovers at a used book store. I bought them immediately! I can’t wait to see where the rest of the series goes ❤

And of course, Harry Potter had to make this list. I’ve read every book in the series and seen all the movies ❤ It will always have a special place in my heart.

 

coollogo_com-78971261.png

deviantart_new_logo_by_th3emoo-d893lu2goodreads_by_th3emoo-d7x22ininstagram_by_th3emoo-d7cxqkvtwitter_by_mr_emoo-d59buk3

5 thoughts on “TTT: Books I Loved But Never Wrote A Review For

  1. Really liked Night Plessures to, but then they stopped translate them into swedish so I have never read the full series and dont think I will 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

