General Updates · Read Feed

ARC: The Waking Land

1wakinglandlargecover34610036

So the same day I finished Lost Boy by Christina Henry I got approved for The Waking Land by Callie Bates on NetGalley. Lol, it’s funny because I thought I was making progress but now I still have 6 books on NetGalley to get to. But, still, I am very happy to have gotten this arc ❤ I actually started reading it yesterday.

I like both covers for this book (my eARC has the US cover on the left) but I love the UK cover just a tiny bit more. The other thing that was funny about this book is that I initially dismissed this book as something I wasn’t too interested in reading. I just kinda looked at the synopsis and it didn’t seem to be that interesting or special so I forgot about it. Later on, the UK version was up on NetGalley and when I saw it I loved the cover and decided to check it out. And the synopsis for the UK version seemed so much more intriguing to me. That’s when I decided to look for the US version and realized it was the same book, haha.

I’m not too far into the book at this point, but I’m enjoying it so far. The main character’s situation (on a basic level) reminds me of And I Darken by Kiersten White because the MC is being raised in another country to help keep her parents in check. Although, Elanna definitely is not as fierce as Lada.

Elanna seems to have some sort of power over things tied to the earth (plants, trees, flowers, etc) which I find pretty cool. Like I said, I’m not too far into the book so I don’t know much, but I’m hoping that wherever the story goes it’ll be good ❤

 

 

coollogo_com-78971261.png

deviantart_new_logo_by_th3emoo-d893lu2goodreads_by_th3emoo-d7x22ininstagram_by_th3emoo-d7cxqkvtwitter_by_mr_emoo-d59buk3

9 thoughts on “ARC: The Waking Land

  1. Oh awesome! love Netgalley approval notifications lol smh & I can relate to feeling like you’re making progress & then getting slammed with more arcs lol. I have a physical copy for Waking Land from Bookcon & the galley since I had requested it many myths ago but I haven’t started it yet. I’m hearing so many mixed reviews but i’ll keep an eye out for your thoughts *fingers crossed* hoping it’s a winner for you 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

