General Updates · Reviews

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

download.jpeg

Title:A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author:Sarah J. Maas

Series: Book 1

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ✩

divider-51

Synopsis
From Goodreads

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.

 

divider-51Favorite Characters

Feyre is an artist, so I naturally felt attached to her. I could relate to her love of colors, lights, and shapes. Art buddies! But, I also liked her for how brave she was and how willing she was to give up her dreams to protect her family.

Lucien was another favorite simply because he was a smartass and loved to make jokes about everyone else (especially Feyre).

Amarantha is one of my favorite antagonists. I loved her background story, the heartbreak, and tragedy of it. She was cold and cruel but I could understand that it came from a deep sense of pain. I also liked that Feyre understood it as well.

divider-51Favorite Scenes

✩ I honestly loved the friendship between Lucien and Feyre so much. I loved how he teased her all the time and pushed her buttons but he would still have her back when it came to it.

“Do you ever stop being so serious and dull?”

“Do you ever stop being such a prick?” I snapped back.

Dead–really, truly, I should have been dead for that.

But Lucien grinned at me. “Much better.”

✩ I think Lucien was really brave in that he was willing to reach out to Feyre and be her friend despite everything that happened. He knew there was something bigger at stake, but it still took an incredible amount of inner strength to move on.

He snorted as I took the knife from the table and turned to procure the bow from my room. “I think I’m starting to like you–for a murdering human.”

✩ I loved this part just because it showed that Tamlin could have a sense of humor too, haha.

Unusual? Queue? Slaying? Conflagration?” He read the list. I wanted to curl up and die. Words I couldn’t recognize from the books–words that now seemed so simple, so absurdly easy as he was saying them aloud. “Is this a poem about murdering me and then burning my body?”

✩ And this one obviously for the comedy as well ❤

“Faerie pig!” I yelled, and Lucien howled, almost tipping back in his chair. At the sight of Tamilin’s growing smile, I left. 

It took me a couple of hours to stop painting little portraits of Tamlin and Lucien with pigs’ features. 

✩ I think Sarah J. Maas really has a way with words. I liked the description in this book and thought it was perfect considering Feyre’s hobby.

The sky was an eddy of molten amethyst, sapphire, and ruby, all blending into a final pool of onyx. I wanted to swim in it, wanted to bathe in its colors and feel the stars twinkling between my fingers. 

Alis was another great character simply for the blunt honesty and company that she held with Feyre.

“It’s a rare day indeed when someone thanks you for bringing them to their death.”

divider-51Review

This book was gifted to me a loooooong time ago (haha, sorry!) by my bestie Lourdes. I’m happy to say that I have finally gotten around to reading it. I especially wanted to read Maas other works since I completely fell in love with her writing because of the Throne of Glass series.

giphy10

 

Are you obsessed with retellings or just like fairytales in general? Read. This. Book.

A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR), is pretty much a retelling/story inspired by Beauty and the Beast. Except with fairies. Which is totally as awesome as it seems.

The story is set in motion when Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, which turns out to be a faerie. Because she did this unprovoked, a treaty between faeries and humans demands that she repay the transgression with her life. But, the Beast offers her an alternative… she can spend the rest of her life living with him in the faerie lands of Prythian. Holding onto the hope of escaping or finding a loophole to the contract, Feyre chooses to follow the Beast to Prythian.

Right off the bat, I liked this book because of the strong female protagonist. Feyre carries the world on her shoulders because of a promise she made on her mother’s deathbed to take care of her father and two older sisters. Feyre’s father is just a shadow in this story. He’s there, but he’s given into his self-pity and depression over their financial situation, which essentially leaves it to Feyre to find ways to keep them alive.

Feyre spends her time hunting to make ends meet. Although, when she’s responsible for the well-being of three other people it doesn’t leave her much room to really live her life or enjoy the simple things (like painting, her hobby/passion). She spends her time worrying so much about others that she never stops to think about what she wants out of life. I liked that she was never willing to go down without a fight and that she was brave and outspoken.

Once Feyre arrives at Tamlin’s, the Beast’s, home, the story focuses more on character development/character relationships rather than the plot. So yes, it will feel a little slow for those who want to jump right onto the plot bus and speed off. I didn’t necessarily see this as an entirely bad thing. I still enjoyed it, but it was one of the reasons I gave the book four stars.

Things between Feyre and Tamlin develop slowly, which is good for those that hate insta-romance. I think since the plot became secondary during the first part of the story it gave these characters room to develop at their own pace, naturally. Compared to Throne of Glass, however, I was like “hawt dayum!” Because let me just say… the romance in this series is certainly spicier than ToG.

Tamlin just on his own was amazing as well. Again, I can’t go into it because of spoilers, but I just have to say that I love him for his bleeding heart and for everything that he had to sacrifice along the way to protect his people.

I was also really behind Feyre’s friendship with Lucien. He definitely had every reason to hate her, but he still looked out for her. For many reasons (which I can’t say because I don’t want to spoil the story). He was a likable character who seemed almost like a big brother to Feyre. He definitely had the teasing-the-crap-outta-her part down, haha.

Another thing I liked is that we were able to see another side to Feyre’s sister, Nesta. At the beginning, she annoyed the crap out of me (well, Elain did too), but we do get to understand her a little better later on. She actually turns out to be the one to help Feyre the most. In the end, I  had to say that I admired Nesta for stepping up. I’m not sure if Feyre’s family will make an appearance in the next book, but I wouldn’t mind it.

Before I go into the ending, I gotta give a little love to Rhysand. He’s one of those characters that’s infuriating but also charming and admirable. He wasn’t entirely good–he didn’t help anyone for free–but he wasn’t all bad. I’m looking forward to seeing more from him in the next book.

It’s the last third of the book that ties everything together. This is where we finally find out about so many secrets, and when Feyre has the most to lose. The plot takes off pretty fast here as the stakes are at an all-time high. We also get to meet out elusive antagonist (she’s pretty great!) I won’t spoil too much, but I have to say that Sarah J. Maas knows how to write her endings. This is a book I highly recommend for fans of retellings, faeries, strong female characters, and (of course) fans of Sarah J. Maas!

 

 

coollogo_com-78971261.png

deviantart_new_logo_by_th3emoo-d893lu2goodreads_by_th3emoo-d7x22ininstagram_by_th3emoo-d7cxqkvtwitter_by_mr_emoo-d59buk3

11 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses

  1. Now you definitely need to read A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2)! And trust me when I say you’re going to LOVE it. So read it ASAP! I’ll be looking out for that review too!
    By the way loved this review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

