Book Memes · General Updates · Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Fandoms You Are No Longer In

Had a great reading week, got some arcs read, some regular books, did some reviews. I hope everyone else is having a good reading week as well. Now, let’s get to this week’s T5W topic:

Everyone has those fandoms they used to be super invested in, and now are no longer a part of.

divider-51

t5w fandoms.jpg

I’m really not sure what went down with the Inheritance series for me. I was—and still–am utterly in love with this first book. However, it took me forever to read the second book. It literally took me years of forcing myself to read bit by bit. And now I’m “on” the next book but I’m honestly considering just giving up and selling my books. I think part of it was that it started to get really long and tedious with its descriptions. And then the language started to get really elevated like the writer was trying really really hard to make it seem elegant (but really it was a lot of fluff).

The Fallen series… I don’t know. I think it was okay at first. I liked it enough to read to the end, but now I don’t remember anything about it and I don’t care for it much. I feel like with anything I really love I remember. And this is not one of those series.

I was probably in the Twilight fandom for all of… I don’t know? Maybe like the time it took me to find out that their vampires sparkled? I still tried to like it, but it wasn’t the same. My friend had let me read the books and so I just kept going with it. I wasn’t comfortable with a lot of stuff that happened in the book, the drama, the unhealthy romance, the weird part with being in love with Bella’s baby… *shivers*. I just …. nah. Not for me.

So, I loved the concept for the House of Night. Even if the writing wasn’t perfect it was still pretty good. And then I was like “oh…” when all these sex scenes popped up (like, at least one in every book). And then the main character was in love with about 6 people by the fourth or fifth book. It got ridiculous. Quick. Plus there was hardcore special snowlake syndrome going on with a couple characters.

This… oh this. Um… one of the Immortals worst series I ever read. I didn’t even finish the series after–I think–the third book when the characters all started acting highly irrational, making terrible decisions and mistakes (often times the same ones) over and over. I just couldn’t take it anymore. I had kinda liked the first book because it had an interesting premise but it went downhill quick with the sequel.

divider-51

This is one of the few times that I put things in order. Basically went down from books that I had really liked but not anymore, to books that I kinda liked and went terribly really fast. Comment if you were ever in any of these fandoms, or if you also did this week’s T5W ❤ I’d love to see what made your list!

 

coollogo_com-78971261.png

deviantart_new_logo_by_th3emoo-d893lu2goodreads_by_th3emoo-d7x22ininstagram_by_th3emoo-d7cxqkvtwitter_by_mr_emoo-d59buk3

Leave a Reply

