Book Memes · General Updates · Read Feed · Thursday Quotables

Thursday Quotables: And I Darken

Thursday Quotables was created by @Bookshelf Fantasies and it’s basically a post to share a quote or passage from your reading that week that you thought was funny, interesting, or that you just enjoyed in some way.

This week I’m sharing a passage from And I Darken by Kiersten White:

“Everyone dies sometime. And I will not let Mircea kill you. If anyone is going to kill you, it will be me. Understand?”

Radu nodded, snuggling into her shoulder. “Will you protect me?”

“Until the day I kill you.”

First of all, super excited that I caught up with my arcs that were coming out right away so now I can go back to my Current Reads list I had made. I have And I Darken, and Queen of Shadows left from the three books I set out to read/review next on the blog so yay ❤

Anyways, back to the quote. I love this quote because it shows them having a sibling bond that is–at the same time–both like and unlike typical sibling bonds. She hasn’t really cared about him much in the past, but now that she’s alone he’s become precious to her. She will protect him, and she’s the only one allowed to hurt him. Lada is never gentle with him, doesn’t baby him, and thinks he’s kind of pathetic but at the same time fiercely protective. I love the sibling relationship in this book ❤

Besides that, I also really like the way that gender stereotypes/roles are reversed in this book. Lada is fierce, adventurous, brave, and aggressive; Radu is kind of a coward, cautious, emotional, and weak. But they balance each other out. This is such a good read ❤ I love Kiersten White’s writing. Hopefully, I can get this done while I have some time off this and next week (it’s kinda long but so worth it) so that I can get my review up for it too before I get super busy with school. Ahhh, I have about five and half weeks until graduation!!! Excited and nervous!

Leave a Reply

