General Updates · TBR Monday

TBR Monday: The House of the Scorpion

Hey everyone, welcome to another week and another TBR share. I don’t always have the time to read all the books I buy (and I but a lot), so TBR Monday gives me the chance to share a book I think is interesting. This week I’m sharing my thoughts on The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer.

13376.jpg

Synopsis (from Goodreads)

Matteo Alacran was not born; he was harvested with the DNA from El Patron, lord of a country called Opium. Can a boy who was bred to guarantee another’s survival find his own purpose in life? And can he ever be free?

divider-51

My boyfriend actually told me about this one, and when I actually went to go look at it on Goodreads I decided that this was definitely going on my TBR list. It kind of reminds me of the Unwind series in a bit (at least from the description) where it’s someone being used to keep others going. It’s already interesting with the whole cloning aspect, but what really (I think) is going to pull me into the story is the whole aspect of the boy being raised to help El Patron. Not sure what that means. Maybe like if he needs an organ or something they take it from this boy? Plus, it must be pretty interesting to see how the two main characters compare considering they share the same DNA.

As always, if you’ve read the book let me know what you thought about it. If you haven’t, does this make your TBR as well?

Leave a Reply

