Book Memes · General Updates · Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Favorite Sci-Fi and Fantasy

Hey everyone, hope you’re all doing well. I know I missed my TBR Monday but I will be making up for it by getting you guys a book review later this week. I haven’t been able to quite stick to my “Current Reads” list that I put up a while ago because I have a lot of arcs to get through, but I will definitely be revisiting that list. Anyways, that’s my little update, but let’s move onto this week’s topic:

In collaboration with the BooktubeSFF Awards, talk about your favorite science fiction and fantasy books of all time!

divider-51

t5w scifi and fantasy.jpg

His Dark Materials is seriously one of the most beautiful stories/worlds I’ve ever read. I love this series so much although I’ve yet to finish the last book. It’s on my to-do list. I highly recommend it ❤ It had a very interesting and complex story with vivid characters.

I added The Mortal Instruments to the list because there’s just so many little details in her worldbuilding. There’s rituals/customs for their weddings, funerals, picking out their partner, and all these rules. She goes into a lot of detail and it just really made the whole TMI universe feel alive.

Again, so many details into the worldbuilding for Throne of Glass. Not only that but I love the main character (and the other characters. Okay, I love everything). Even the ones that are supposed to be evil and hated just have their stories and personalities so well written that I can’t help but like them for it. Plus, Celaena kicks some serious ass.

Wicked Lovely was great for its worldbuilding, but for also breaking some overused tropes. There’s love triangles but they’re different. The female characters are strong and inspiring. And of course, faeries ❤

Lastly, Eon because the story is amazing. I liked the first book more than the first, but the duology is still great. Plus, it’s always great when women are supposed to be powerless in political/fighting/governing ways and then there comes a strong female character that says “fuck that” haha.

divider-51

Didn’t really have much in terms of sci-fi that I wanted or could put on the list. Never really been big into sci-fi, but hey maybe there’ll be a book I read later on that changes that. Maybe you guys have some recommendations? As always, have a great week and feel free to hit me up in the comments with your thoughts or suggestions!

Leave a Reply

