General Updates · Reviews

Review: Dorothy Must Die

51tkjbet4el-_sx329_bo1204203200_

 

 

Title:Dorothy Must Die

Author:Danielle Paige

Series: Book 1

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

divider-51

Synopsis

We all know the story about Oz, but what happened after the happily ever after? In this tale, Oz has become a twisted place, where nothing is as it should be. Everyone lives in fear under the rule of the childish but deadly-and-power-hungry Dorothy. Amy was no one before the tornado brought her to Oz, but now everyone’s hopes for freedom rest on her shoulders. Will she be able to turn things back, or will she make the same mistakes?

divider-51

Favorite Characters

I fell in love with Amy right away (and Star, of course), as well as Gert. Really, I loved a lot of characters. In her own way, I also liked Dorothy as well. I think she was a pretty interesting spoiled brat of a villain. There were so many interesting characters, each with their little quirks.

divider-51Favorite Scenes

► One of the very first things that will grab your attention in this book is the opening.

I first discovered I was trash three days before my ninth birthday–one year after my father lost his job and moved to Secaucus to live with a woman named Crystal and four years before my mother had the car accident, started taking the pills, and began exclusively wearing bedroom slippers instead of normal shoes. 

► Amy had the worst (best) attitude ever. She was so sassy. So freaking sassy and I loved it ❤ Big points for getting into a “fight” with the bitchy pregnant head-bee of the school.

“Maybe he just wanted to talk to someone his own size.” 

► There was so much magic missing from Oz that it was kinda sad. Sure there were mentions of it and everything, but I kept wanting to see it in its full glory instead of hearing about how it used to be.

The road wanted something, he had told me, and now I knew the pit did, too. It was hungry. It was already infinite and still it wanted more.

► I like how Amy was meant to be a sort of foil to Dorothy, but at the same time, she was constantly worrying (and people around her) about whether or not she’d end up being the same as Dorothy.

Dorothy’s face was burning with aggrieved rage. “I am the only one. There can only be one.”

My gut twisted. I understood. We had the same story. It was like we were wearing the same dress to the prom. 

► One of the greatest lines from Mombi ever.

“What’s the catch?” I asked. “I’m not giving you my firstborn, if that’s what you want.” 

“Oh,” she said. “That won’t be necessary. The second-born will do.” 

divider-51Review

Wow! This book was every bit as amazing as I had heard it was. I first looked into the book because I’d seen it on sale and it sounded interesting. It wasn’t until my friend read and fell in love with it, however, that I decided it was time to actually read it. I really loved Danielle Paige’s writing style. She really knows how to keep the story moving at a good pace and develop her characters. When Amy goes in undercover I was a bit worried that the story would slow down significantly with her going through her chores and whatnot, but there was plenty of development between characters as well as little plot points to keep it going.

I instantly fell in love with Amy and Star, and with each of her friends as they came along. What was great about Amy was that she was really outspoken and had immense internal strength. She was essentially taking care of herself for years and then in Oz she didn’t let this new environment defeat her. She kept being strong, willing to learn and rise up to challenges–she wasn’t a quitter.

One of the big themes in the book that I enjoyed is the whole concept of Good vs Wicked. Nothing is really what it seems in Oz. It’s up to the Order of the Wicked to restore Oz to its formal glory and put the world in balance once again.

The best thing about this book has to be the story: it’s like a twisted fairytale type thing. We see what happens after Dorothy saves Oz and–let me tell you–it’s terrible. There are so many dark things that happen. I can’t wait to read the next book and find out more! I would highly recommend this if you like retellings or The Wizard of Oz, its a great story and I am definitely going to be continuing the series ❤

6 thoughts on “Review: Dorothy Must Die

Leave a Reply

