Book Memes · General Updates · Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Happy Wednesday everyone! We’re halfway through the week for those of you, who like me, are currently swimming in work and can’t wait for the weekend. This brings us to this week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic:

Winter is a hard season for a lot of people and many of us are slumpy. Let’s talk about some books that are great for getting you out of a slump!

divider-51

t5w reading slump.jpg

Throne of Glass was the book that actually did it for me when I was getting ready to start my blog, so I have to thank it for a lot haha. Her writing has a very easy flow to it, the characters are well developed and interesting, and the plot is definitely amazing.

Hunger Games was another one of those series that really fueled me when I was starting to slow down on my reading over the winter break. The writing flows well, it’s pretty easy to read, but the story is charged with so much meaning. I really love that about this book.

Okay, Glass Houses I have to always give props to because sometimes if a series is too long it can be the determining factor on whether I decide to start it or put it off forever (and might just end up never picking it up). But, the Morganville Vampire series is 15 books long and I read one right after the other. I finished this series so freaking quick. I absolutely love this series because Claire is an amazing character and so are all the others in their own ways. I love how the make their own little family/home in the story. The story itself is kinda cool too in that it’s a town ruled over by vampires in modern day. People pay taxes by donating blood. There are all these little rules (both said and unsaid). I highly recommend this, but buy the omnibus volumes to save money.

Kinda weird to put Crank here considering how dark the story gets, but I do what I want! This book had always kinda made me stop in bookstores. I wanted to read it but I was put off by the fact it’s told in poem-like form (because high school made me hate poetry for the longest time). But when it went on sale I gave it a chance and I do not regret it one single bit. In fact, I immediately went online to order the next two books. This is a good once to read because it’s very easy to. It’s all very quick and smooth because of the format and the story is really emotional.

I’m going to ironically put the happy, cheery, adorable book after the deep, kinda dark book haha. Cardcaptor Sakura was my childhood. I watched the anime as a kid and had always wanted to read the manga. I finally got to because I found the omnibus at Book Off for cheap, and then my boyfriend (he’s amazing <3) bought me the other three volumes. It’s a very cute story, the art is beautiful, and the concept is cool. I highly recommend this if you need something easy, fun, and interesting to read or if you want to take a detour from traditional books.

divider-51

Those are the books that get/got me out of reading slumps. How do you guys deal with reading slumps? Are there any go-to books on your list? Comment and let me know c:

Leave a Reply

