Book Memes · General Updates · Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Book Trends You’re Tired Of

Hey everyone, hope you’re all having a good reading week! It’s Wednesday so it’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday. This is this week’s topic:

What are some things you are tired of seeing that are trends in publishing? Maybe something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre? Let it out!

divider-51

1) Books that don’t tell you what number they are.

Okay, this is like the most annoying thing. It’s really simple to take care of. Most books, if part of a series, have the images of all the books in order somewhere in the back. That’s great, but then they have the number on them, and then leave the cover of the book you’re holding out of the lineup. Which essentially still leaves me guessing which number it is in the series. Bless all the beautiful people who actually put “Title: #whatever in Series Title Here” at the top because that is so freaking wonderful. Or when the simply put the number on the spine. I love it when people do that. Don’t leave me guessing. I came here to read, not solve a mystery.

2) “For fans of”.

You know what I’m talking about. When the cover/jacket of the book has a little sentence somewhere telling you that “if you like this, then you’ll like our book”. I mean… that’s not as bad as other things, but I feel like people mostly use it to gain attention, not because it actually does resemble the book. Plus it’s kind of a bad tactic because if you didn’t like those other books that it’s linking to then you might not want to pick up their book. Especially if it happens to be good then you’ve just screwed yourself over.

3) Poor synopsis.

Most books don’t do this but on Amazon omg… the amount of books that have huge descriptions for their books is astounding. I’m sorry but, if you write more than like 2-3 paragraphs then you’ve pretty much lost me. The point of a synopsis is to give me an idea of your book and reel me in, not tell me the whole story and push me away. This also goes the other way. I see this especially with e-books where the synopses are super short. Like … 2-3 sentences. That essentially tells me nothing. Like when they say things like “A kidnapped princess. A kind-hearted assassin. The fate of the kingdom rests in their hands”. I hate that. Gimme a little more meat on those bones. Or the other one is where they give you a paragraph long description … but it doesn’t actually say anything because they make it vague AF. Then I have to go looking online for reviews and stuff to even find out what the book is about.

4) Love at first sight, jerk guys, & multiple love interests.

It depends on the book if this is like “meh” or “hate it”. But either way, I don’t exactly enjoy when the author takes away the fun of seeing two characters fall in love by making them fall instantly in love. Like there is no reason for them to be so obsessed with one another so soon and yet they are. The other thing is when the person (usually a guy in my reading experience) is a complete a-hole to the girl but she’s obsessed with him anyways. No. Just, no. Stop making people think that being a jerk means they like you. That’s so overrated and it’s not even cute when you’re in elementary school. Lastly, I hate it when books have the House-Of-Night Syndrome where just about every male character in the book falls in love with the main character. Seriously. When I left off on House of Night I think she’d had around 6 at least. Stop it. She’s not the only female on the planet.

5) Books to movies with split endings.

This is that stupid trend that Twilight started with “Part one” and “Part two”. You can totally tell the story in a single movie. Stop trying to milk a series for all it’s got when it’s not necessary. I find it really annoying and tacky to have it split into two parts.

divider-51

So these are my top 5 things that annoy me with books. I’m sure I could find more if I thought about it, haha, but these are the ones that immediately jumped to mind. Let me know what you think, or what you would put on your list.

As far as reading updates go: I’m about halfway done with Awaken by Michelle Bryan, which I got through Netgalley. It’s been a pretty fun read, so I’m thinking I’ll probably end up requesting the sequel. I also have an arc of Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller that I have yet to get to. It doesn’t come out for another couple months so it’s on the bottom of my list at the moment since I have 2 other arcs that have earlier release dates.

And I ended up ordering a bunch of books from Thriftbooks when they had their double reading rewards, and Barnes and Noble because I discovered a 15% coupon I could use multiple times haha. So my February Book Haul is going to be larger than it should (I said I wouldn’t buy so many books, ooops). But yeah, it’s been a fun week. Maybe not so much for my wallet lol.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

