General Updates · Reviews

Review: Catching Fire

6148028

 

Title:Catching Fire

Author:Suzanne Collins

Series: Book 2

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

 

*Note:Check out my review for the first book here.

divider-51

Synopsis

Katniss and Peeta have survived the Hunger Games, but their final actions in the Games have earned them unwanted attention. President Snow sees her actions as an act of rebellion, and not everyone is convinced that she and Peeta were just madly in love. Their actions also have unexpected consequences in the other districts who rise up against the injustices of the Capitol. If Katniss can’t convince everyone she’s just a girl in love she could lose everything.

divider-51

Favorite Characters

Again, I love Katniss, especially in this book because she starts looking at things in a new light. It’s not just about her anymore–she’s starting to see that. I think she grows up a bit in this book, more than in the last one.

And of course, I love, love, love Cinna. Cinna who is fearless, creative, and bold as always. What he does in this book… oh my gosh with her dress? Ugh, you… beautiful person you. Seriously, though, Cinna is great because he holds it together for Katniss, but also finds ways to make his points clear without words. He does it through his art. Being an artist myself I admire that.

divider-51

Favorite Scenes

► This moment was great because of how bold it was for her to say it, but it was also a very good shot at the Capitol.

“Whatever problems anyone may have with the Capitol, believe me when I say that if it released its grip on the district for even a short time, the entire system would collapse.”

I’m taken aback by the directness and the sincerety of this speech. As if his primary concern is the welfare of the citizens of Panem, when nothing could be further from the truth. I don’t know how I dare to say the next words, but I do. “It must be very fragile, if a handful of berries can bring it down.”

► This was a really…. raw, honest moment of realization for Katniss. There were other passages when she realizes how much Peeta is willing to give up in order to keep her safe and happy… and how she almost doesn’t deserve him.

I look at Peeta and he gives me a sad smile. I hear Haymitch’s voice. “You could do a lot worse.” At his moment, it’s impossible to imagine how I could do any better. The gift… it is perfect. So when I rise up on tiptoe to kiss him, it doesn’t seem forced at all. 

► This was impactful on its own because it showed how completely different the Capitol life was from the disctricts’ lives. This was during a party in the Capitol when someone gave Peeta a glass with drink that would make him throw up.

All I can think of is the emaciated bodies of the children on our kitchen table as my mother prescribes when the parents can’t give. More food. Now that we’re rich, she’ll send some home with them. But often in the old days, there was nothing to give and the child was past saving, anyway. And here in the Capitol they’re vomiting for the pleasure of filling their bellies again and again. Not from some illness of the body or mind, not from spoiled food. It’s what everyone does at a party. Expected. Part of the fun.

► This was impactful on its own because it showed how completely different the Capitol life was from the disctricts’ lives. This was during a party in the Capitol when someone gave Peeta a glass with a drink that would make him throw up.

All I can think of is the emaciated bodies of the children on our kitchen table as my mother prescribes when the parents can’t give. More food. Now that we’re rich, she’ll send some home with them. But often in the old days, there was nothing to give and the child was past saving, anyway. And here in the Capitol they’re vomiting for the pleasure of filling their bellies again and again. Not from some illness of the body or mind, not from spoiled food. It’s what everyone does at a party. Expected. Part of the fun.

► I chose this quote because I liked how observant and smart it was of Katniss to put these two things together and figure out a way to kind of tell what districts were rebelling.

I begin to question them casually about what other hardships this winter has brought them. They are not used to want, so any little disruption in supply makes an impact on them. By the time I’m ready to be dressed, their complaints about the difficulty of getting different products–from crabmeat to music chips to ribbons–has given me a sense of which districts might actually be rebelling. Seafood from District 4. Electronic gadgets from District 3. And, of course, fabrics from District 8. The thought of such widespread rebellion has me quivering with fear and excitement.

► Doing my best not give away spoilers for those who haven’t read this. But basically, for the Quarter Quell (special Games held every 25 years), the Gamemakers/President decide to make a statement too…

Yes, victors are our strongest. They’re the ones who survived the arena and slipped the noose of poverty that strangles sthe rest of us. They, or should I say we, are the very embodiment of hope when there is no hope.

► And Cinna in a nutshell ❤

“Don’t worry. I always channel my emotions into my work. That way I don’t hurt anyone but myself.”

divider-51

Review

First off, I want to just mention how I was only going to read a few chapters of this yesterday and then jump into one of the ARC’s I have to get to but I got so pulled into this book that I kept reading… and reading until I finished it. Now, back to the review! Haha.

One of the things that you can expect in this book is more emotion and action on Katniss’s part. She starts thinking about what people mean to her and actually trying to connect to those closest to her. She also does a whole lot more in terms of standing up for others and thinking beyond just her and surviving. In this sense, she develops quite a bit. She also begins to think about the consequences of her actions and what they mean to other people.

Plotwise: you can expect quite a few twists (cruel twists) that affect Katniss and Peeta. They just… wow–even knowing a bit about the plot already because I’ve heard people talk about the movie I was still emotionally invested enough to be shocked. Catching Fire really steps it up in terms of the overall intensity. This book really has things reaching a climax for the districts where the tension is building up and up until they finally spring into action.

I loved the writing, the growth of the characters, and the direction of the story. I can’t wait to read the last book and actually get to discuss some of the things in my Hunger Games class this semester in college. It should be really fun

One thought on “Review: Catching Fire

Leave a Reply

