General Updates · TBR Monday

TBR Monday: Etiquette & Espionage

Welcome to my first “To-Be Read Monday”! This is where I pick a book from my endless “to-be read” list, give the synopsis, some of my thoughts and insights, and then see what you all think about it. You can tell me about it if you’ve read it, or give me your thoughts about it even if you haven’t. Maybe you’ll add this to your to-be read list haha. This can either be a book I own that I’ve been meaning to get to for some time, or something that’s been sitting on my Goodreads TBR shelf.

This week I’m going to be posting about Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger.

1etiquetteespionage

Synopsis (from Goodreads)

It’s one thing to learn to curtsy properly. It’s quite another to learn to curtsy and throw a knife at the same time. Welcome to Finishing School.

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is a great trial to her poor mother. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper manners–and the family can only hope that company never sees her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. So she enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality.

But Sophronia soon realizes the school is not quite what her mother might have hoped. At Mademoiselle Geraldine’s, young ladies learn to finish…everything. Certainly, they learn the fine arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but they also learn to deal out death, diversion, and espionage–in the politest possible ways, of course. Sophronia and her friends are in for a rousing first year’s education.

divider-51

So really I picked up this book a while ago because my friend had recommended another series from the author to me. I haven’t read that series either (which sounds amazing because it’s steampunk), but I saw these at Barnes & Noble one day and just fell in love with the cover design. It didn’t help that they were also by an author that I had heard very good things about. What really sealed the deal was finding it at Book-Off for $5.

I have to say that I really love the premise of this book. I love the idea of being shipped off to a school because you’re such a troublemaker and then becoming more of a troublemaker, albeit a more efficient one. I have a good feeling about this series so I hope I love it as much as I think I will. In a way, it kind of reminds me of Mind Games by Kiersten White (which is amazing).

One thought on “TBR Monday: Etiquette & Espionage

Leave a Reply

