Discussions · General Updates

Shadowhunters: A little (Big) Overview

20160616_195128

My B&N order for Lady Midnight came in The Dark Artifices) to the main series The Mortal Instruments.

Still, I thought I might give a little summary of Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter books in case anyone is interested (since I kind of said I would whenever my order came in). Be forewarned, there is a lot, so I’ll be using some shorthand. I will try to avoid major spoilers as usual~

divider-51

The Mortal Instruments (TMI) is a six book long series (which are the “main” books) that begins with Clary Fray on a night out with her best friend Simon Lewis. While at a club she spots a boy with a knife and follows after him, eventually leading her to witness the murder of a boy whom only she can apparently see (besides the attackers). Without giving too many spoilers the series basically takes off from there as she goes on to discover secrets about her and her family. The world as she knows it suddenly grows much larger and darker.

I have read all but the last book, and I have to say it is one of my favorite series. The characters are all just so fun to read about and the books had me laughing out loud more than a few times. It is a series I would highly recommend though I would say don’t watch the movie as it spoils the plot for a couple of books, and also don’t watch the TV series because it is just (in my opinion) plain terrible. Part of me wants to force myself to watch it, but I’ve seen about 3 episodes and that was torture enough.

The Infernal Devices (TID) is a prequel series to The Mortal Instruments. Some of the characters from TMI appear in this series as well, so that’s always fun. The series kicks off with Tessa Gray searching for her missing brother. During her search she is captured and forced to discover a power she didn’t know she had. From there the book basically goes on having the main characters trying to discover who is behind these actions and why.

It’s fairly interesting so far even though I haven’t read much (I’ve only read the first book), but I would also recommend this series.

The Last Hours is a series I actually wasn’t aware of until I went to go check out Cassie’s page recently. I don’t think anything is really out there for this besides a short introduction to each of the main characters. From what I’ve gathered it is supposed to be set sometime after The Infernal Devices.

Extras: Aside from the main novels there are also two collections of e-books that are linked to the Shadowhunter Chronicles, a companion novel, and a reader.

The first collection, The Bane Chronicles (TBC), is centered around the character Magnus Bane whom I love to death. Various scenes in TMI and TID make allusions and references to these wild adventures that Magnus gets into so it was such a treat to finally to get to be on the inside of all those jokes. You probably know what I’m going to say, but I’ll say it anyways: I highly recommend this. I loved being able to get more background on Magnus, he is probably my favorite character tied with (if not above) Jace.

The second collection is coming out this November in print and I am so buying it. Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy, like TBC, is a collection of short stories that expands on a single character from the series–in this case, Simon Lewis. Although not my favorite character I also really liked Simon and his smartass retorts throughout TMI series so I look forward to this collection.

The Shadowhunter’s Codex is something I have yet to read in its entirety (guilty). I see it almost as a reference book that expands on the Shadowhunter lore/universe as it is the book mentioned over and over again throughout the series; the Codex is basically the book that helps train/guide Shadowhunters, and this one in particular is supposed to be Clary Fray’s copy which has notes from her and her friends/family written throughout (which are hilarious half the time).

And finally (deep breath), the last book is Shadowhunters and Downworlders: A Mortal Instruments Reader, which is a collection of stories written by various authors. It talks about the series, its characters, events, etc. and just kind of expands on the Shadowhunter universe. Not something I’ve read entirely but it’s a good read for any fan of the series.

divider-51

Phew, so there you have it. Thank god I skip spoilers or this would probably be a whooooole not longer haha. Well anyways, aside from all this fangirl-ing:

Currently pushing my way through Eona still. I have to admit it is kinda hard to read at times just because of the language. I just have to be in the right mood for it. The story is interesting and I loved the first book, but I had the same problem. I’m hoping to be done in a few days if I can get myself to focus.

I hope everyone’s having a good week so far, and I’ll update again soon if only to blog about my reading progress. See ya guys later!

Leave a Reply

